Secondary Schools Rugby League “League” results report


Hull Schools RL Leagues Draw To A Conclusion

The 2017-2018 Hull Schools Rugby League Premier and Championship League seasons have finished for another year. The competitions are run by Hull Active Schools in partnership with the Hull Fc Foundation and the Hull KR Community Trust.  44 teams with over 800 students took part in a five week league programme to decide promotion and relegation from each league with the top four teams gaining qualification for the Yorkshire Cup.

In the Year 7 age group, schools were grouped based on locality. Malet lambert won the Hull Schools League convincingly to secure the number one seed position for the Yorkshire Cup. St Mary’s College won the Hull Schools Central League to gain the second seed position with Sirius Academy West winning the Hull Schools West League to secure the third seed. Longcroft were the best second placed team in each of the three leagues to secure the final Yorkshire Cup Place.

In the Year 8 Hull Schools Premier League, Sirius Academy North won the title with Winifred Holtby Academy finishing as runners up and Sirius Academy West in third place. Archbishop Sentamu Academy secured the last Yorkshire Cup position after winning the Hull Schools Championship League. St Mary’s College secured promotion to next seasons Championship League after securing the Year 8 Championship 1 title.

Archbishop Sentamu Academy ran away with the Year 9 Premier League title with Winifred Holtby Academy claiming the runners up spot and St Mary’s College third place. Malet Lambert or Sirius Academy West who won the Championship League title will play off for the final Yorkshire Cup place.

Malet Lambert beat St Mary’s College to the Year 10 Premier League title. Archbishop Sentamu Academy won the Hull Schools Championship League title with Sirius Academy North finishing as runners up completing the qualifiers for the Yorkshire Cup. Finally in the Year 11 Hull Schools Premier League, Winifred Holtby Academy secured the title with Archbishop Sentamu Academy finishing as runners up. The last two Yorkshire Cup qualification places were taken by Sirius Academy West who won the Hull Schools Championship League title and Malet Lambert were runners up.

The Yorkshire Cup will run in a league format with each team playing three games. The winners of each league will progress to the National Cup. The Hull Schools Rugby league season will continue with Autumn 9’s and Spring 9’s run in partnership with the Hull FC and Hull KR Community Trust followed by the Hull Schools Cup which runs from February-May 2018. The Girls programme begins in January 2018 with the Yorkshire Cup qualifiers.


About Author

Leave A Reply